What Happens If You Have a Car Accident Without Insurance?

Posted by

If, as a driver, you cause an accident without having car insurance, you’ll be the one to cover all expenses for your damaged vehicle. Other people could sue you for damage and injuries caused by you to them.

What Happens If You Have a Car Accident Without Insurance?

In most states, driving without insurance is illegal, and you could lose your driver’s license and car registration, or be in jail and face penalties such as fines.

If the accident was caused by the other driver, it’s slightly better because the other driver who’s at fault would be responsible for the damage to a car accident. The kind of expenses you’re likely to pay back if you were driving without insurance may be reduced by state laws in such cases.

What do you have to pay after an accident with no car insurance?

If you’re at fault, in most states, your insurance companies cover the cost of the damages and injuries of the people involved in the accident. And if you’re without insurance, then the victims might sue you. 

The process for each state varies if it is considered a “no-fault” insurance state. Each state has its own rules and legal actions.

In most states, drivers make claims, regardless of who is at fault, to their insurance for minor injuries, which means you may not be sued by the victims for medical expenses unless it’s a more severe injury or the tab gets to a particular amount. 

If you’re not at fault and you have no insurance, you’ll be limited in suing the at-fault driver, depending on the state. Uninsured drivers living in a state with “no pay, no play” laws are restricted from suing for damages that can’t be measured with money, such as physical pain, emotional distress, and mental suffering.

An uninsured motorist in the state of “no pay, no play” laws may likely pay a huge sum of deductibles for repair before they are allowed to sue for the expenses of the property damage.

In a state like Louisiana, if an uninsured driver gets in an accident, that is not their fault; they’re not liable to collect the $25,000 in property damage and the $15,000 in personal injuries. 

Here are states with “no pay, no play” laws. 

  • Oregon
  • New Jersey 
  • North Dakota
  • Missouri
  • Michigan 
  • Louisiana 
  • Kansa 
  • Lowa
  • Indiana 
  • California
  • Alaska 

Penalties for getting caught without insurance 

Whether you’re at fault or not, in a car accident or when caught driving without insurance or other proof of financial responsibility, you could face huge consequences.

For instance, in Texas, drivers without insurance who happen to be first-time offenders face a fine of $175, while in Minnesota, the same offense carries a fine of $1,000, 90 days in jail, and even loss of license and registration. 

How to find affordable car insurance

Being without insurance may save you money in the short term. But when an accident occurs and you happen to be the cause of it, you will likely find yourself paying thousands of dollars on medical care, property damage, and legal expenses. Plus, when there’s an insurance gap, it could lead to higher average rates. 

Here are ways to find affordable car insurance and also save on your car insurance. 

  • Before purchasing, try comparing multiple policy quotes. Get quotes from several insurance providers to compare coverage options, prices, and discounts. This way, you’ll have peace of mind knowing you are not overpaying for your coverage.
  • Ask about available discounts that could qualify you for a lower rate, such as discounts for safe driving or bundling multiple policies.
  • Maintaining a clean record can qualify you for lower insurance premiums and help you avoid surcharges on your policy.
  • In order not to overinsure or underinsure yourself, it’s crucial to speak with a licensed insurance agent about your issue to help understand your coverage needs and help you find the right coverage for your needs.

Frequently asked questions

What happens if you don’t have insurance?

Driving an uninsured car can lead to the police seizing or even destroying the vehicle, as they have the authority to do so in certain cases when the car is operated without proper insurance coverage.

What happens if I don’t buy insurance?

Driving an uninsured car is illegal and can result in severe legal and financial repercussions if stopped or in an accident. You would be liable for costly auto repairs and medical expenses out of pocket, which is extremely expensive.

Why is insurance not needed?

If a person has saved and invested enough money to ensure their family’s financial security even after their death, then purchasing a life insurance policy may not be necessary for them.”