On Instagram, there are a lot of ways to know if someone has blocked you. If you are no longer able to view the posts of someone you follow, chances are that the person has blocked you.
Instagram blocking is the most forceful way to limit a user’s communication with another person. It also does not have a feature that notifies users when they have been blocked by someone, nor does it have a history list of users that have blocked you so that you can see who blocked you.
Four Ways Know if Someone Has Blocked You on Instagram
Instagram is one of the most popular social platforms globally because it allows users to connect with families and friends all around the world. Although Instagram account blocking enables users to block other users from viewing their profile, users block other users from their page to avoid unwanted attention on the platform.
But how can you tell when someone blocks you? Instagram does not have a specific feature that notifies users when they have been blocked by someone.
Although you feel you have been blocked on Instagram, there are ways to know if someone has blocked you.
1. Search for their profile on Instagram
First of all, start by searching for the username of the person you think blocked you on Instagram.
- Tap on the search icon at the bottom of the screen, then type the username of the person’s account.
- If the user’s Instagram account is private and you can’t find it on Instagram, you might have been blocked.
- If the user’s Instagram account is public and you can’t see their profile picture, posts, or followers and the photo grid area reads “No Posts Yet” on their page, you have been blocked.
This method is applicable to both Android users and iPhone users.
Some Instagram users can find it a little bit difficult to comprehend. A user might remove you from their followers, which simply means you won’t be able to see the person’s posts, but you are blocked by the person.
The user could also mute you, which also means you’re not blocked. But he or she won’t be able to see any of your posts and will have no reason to communicate with you.
2. Check the Direct Message Conversation of the Suspected Person
Instagram does not delete messages; only you or the recipient can delete messages. In this case, you might not see the user’s profile picture in the inbox conversation. But to know if you have been blocked by someone, do the following:
- Go to the inbox and have a conversation between you and the user.
- Type any message you have in mind and tap Send.
If you noticed, none of your messages were sent to the recipient to show that the user had blocked you. You can also try to view the person’s profile from the inbox conversation. If the open page has no posts and you see a brief text saying USER NOT FOUND, it simply means you have been blocked.
3. Check Your Comments or Liked Posts
If you remember that the user has commented on any of your Instagram posts, tap their username to go to their profile.
If, upon reaching their profile, you can’t find any details, or if you see an error message that reads ‘Sorry, this page isn’t available,’ chances are that you have been blocked.
4. Ask a Friend
One last method you should try is to find out if their intention was to block you. Then I request that you ask a friend that knows you and the user to see if the individual’s account is still available.
If it happens to see the user’s Instagram account, then the person has truly blocked you for good.
It also means the person doesn’t want to have anything with you. So all you have to do is respect the person’s privacy and not contact them.
Once a user has been blocked from Instagram by someone, you won’t be able to communicate with that person again until the person unblocks you, which might not be possible in some cases. So the best way to deal with it is to forget about the situation and live on with your life.
Will I be Notified if Someone Blocks me on Instagram?
You won’t be notified when someone has blocked you on Instagram. Instagram does not have a feature that notifies users when they have been blocked by someone. Neither does it have a history list of people that block you.
Can I still see the profile of someone who blocks me on Instagram?
No, you won’t be able to see the profile of the person who blocked you. When someone blocks you, their profile becomes unavailable.
Is There a Way to Confirm if I Have Been Blocked Without Checking Instagram Directly?
There is no way to confirm if someone has blocked you without checking Instagram directly. For instance, if you share the username of the person who blocked you with a friend, your friend will have to make use of the Instagram app to confirm if the user’s Instagram account is still available.